Saturday, January 12, 2008
War Eagle Mill - Northwest Arkansas
One of the most picturesque sites in Arkansas also has a rich Civil War history. The first War Eagle Mill was constructed by Sylvanus Blackburn two decades before the war, but was washed away during a flood in 1848. He replaced it and by 1860, War Eagle was a prosperous little community.
The second War Eagle Mill was used by Union Col. Grenville M. Dodge to grind corn for the Northern army on the eve of the Battle of Pea Ridge. After the battle, the Confederate army under Generals Earl Van Dorn and Sterling Price passed the mill during their retreat.
The mill was burned before the end of the war and, due to the economic hard times of Reconstruction, was not rebuilt until 1873. The current structure is a modern reproduction of the 1873 mill, but offers visitors a fascinating opportunity to see the War Eagle Mill site as it appeared more than 100 years ago.
War Eagle Mill is located at 11045 War Eagle Road east of Rogers, Arkansas. If you would like to read more about the mill or see more photographs, please visit: